About Wagner Roofing

chuckwagner5Wagner Roofing Company is unique because we specialize in historic restorations, churches, government buildings and residential. The business has a large sheet metal shop and warehouse and we pride ourselves on being able to provide custom sheet metal fabrication. The company performs repair and reroofing of shingles, slate, tin, tile, copper as well as, built-up and modified bitumen. Additionally, the company repairs, replaces and maintains all types of guttering and downspouts. Wagner Roofing Company employs over 50 people, made up of support staff, officers, and a dispatcher.
ottoJ.S. Wagner Company, Inc. was established in 1914 by Otto Wagner at 2609 Evarts Street, N.E. In 1937 Otto died and the company was operated by his son Jack Wagner. Jack managed the company and also worked with tools. He continued with Otto’s philosophy of servicing the customer while providing quality workmanship. The company relocated to 2024 Rhode-Island Avenue, N.E. in 1951. Due to a heart condition Jack was forced to retire in 1962. At that time the oldest son, Jack Jr. returned from college to take over the family business. Chuck Wagner, the second son, joined the firm full time in 1966 after graduating college. The brothers managed the firm with the same goals and philosophy as their grandfather and father.
jackThe main office, sheet metal shop, and warehouse have been located at 4909 46th Avenue, Hyattsville, Maryland since 1971. For over 30 years Jack, Jr. and Chuck Wagner ran the company successfully. After Jack, Jr. retired from the company in 1991 he continued his interest in Bird Barrier which is the exclusion of birds from buildings. Chuck Wagner and his wife, Sheila, are currently President and Vice-President respectively. Over the years the company goal has remained the same—customer service.